Liberals rhetorically support NDP pharmacare bill, then vote against it

On Wednesday afternoon, the House of Commons voted down a New Democratic motion to take a first step toward national pharmacare. The vote went 32 for the measure to 295 against.

All 24 New Democrats and all three Greens voted for the motion. Two Liberals supported the bill, Nathan Erskine-Smith, who represents the Toronto riding for which Jack Layton was once the MP, and Wayne Long, a New Brunswick MP.

Related stories